Skip to main content

Western Australian Ice Skating Association


The Western Australian Ice Skating Association Inc. (WAISA) is the peak body for the administration of Figure and Synchronised Skating in Western Australia. WAISA aims to support our members and associated clubs to work towards the positive promotion of participation in Figure and Synchronised Skating at the competitive and developmental level in WA.


The Western Australian Ice Skating Association Inc. (WAISA) was formed in March, 1977 by a group of enthusiastic parents and skaters.

The first president of WAISA was Les Marshall. One of the longest serving presidents was Les Latham, a foundation member, who went on to become a WAISA/ISA National Judge & Ice Skating Australia (ISA) Council member. The Les Latham Artistic Trophy is held every year in his memory.

Tony & Ilze Jonikis were members in the early years, and both went on to become national and international judges and were the driving force in promoting Synchronised Skating in its early days.  Ilze was also a WAISA secretary for many years and both Tony and Ilze were on the Council of ISA for many years.

Since the inception of the ISA Board of Management there has been three WAISA Officials elected to the Board.  Lynne Downing, Carole Ashworth and Kylie Yacopetti.

WAISA’s first competitors at national championships skated in the Novice division at the 1978 Australian Figure Skating Championships held in Sydney. WAISA skaters have continued to represent WA at nationals every year since then.

WAISA has hosted five Australian Figure Skating Championships 1983, 1989, 1996, 2000, and 2005.